Browser Compatibility Notification
It appears you are trying to access this site using an outdated browser. As a result, parts of the site may not function properly for you. We recommend updating your browser to its most recent version at your earliest convenience.

About Clarington

Port of Newcastle

The Municipality of Clarington is a beautiful community that forms the eastern boundary of the Greater Toronto Area.

Clarington is one of eight municipalities located in Durham Region. With a population of 105,000 people and growing, Clarington offers residents a blend of city living and rural charm.

Our residents enjoy waterfront trails alongside Lake Ontario, Greenbelt protected farmlands and the natural beauty of the Oak Ridges Moraine.

Clarington is a great place to live, work and raise a family.


The Municipality of Clarington was created in 1974 following the approval of the Regional Municipality of Durham Act. The act brought together 21 municipalities, creating a two-tier government structure with a regional government and eight individual Municipalities.

Clarington was formed by the amalgamation of the former Town of Bowmanville, the Village of Newcastle and the Townships of Clarke and Darlington.

In 1993, the Municipality was renamed to Clarington: a blend of the names of the original Townships of Clarke and Darlington.

Today, Clarington is comprised of four urban centres: Courtice, Bowmanville, Newcastle and Orono. The Municipality is also home to 14 hamlets.

Bowmanville is the largest community in Clarington. It is also the home of the Municipal Administrative Centre.


Website Feedback Customer Service