Browser Compatibility Notification
It appears you are trying to access this site using an outdated browser. As a result, parts of the site may not function properly for you. We recommend updating your browser to its most recent version at your earliest convenience.

Clarington Heritage Committee

Alert icon

As we continue to adapt to the COVID-19 pandemic, the Clarington Heritage Committee will continue to meet. To maintain physical distancing, these meetings will take place in an electronic format using teleconferencing. The meetings are open to the public through electronic participation or telephone participation only. For meeting information and instructions to join,  view the committee agenda.


The Clarington Heritage Committee (CHC) is a volunteer advisory committee established by Council following the provisions of the Ontario Heritage Act. 

The CHC assists the Municipality to identify, review, discuss and make recommendations to Council on properties and issues of cultural heritage, value and interest. 

Committee members are bound by the by-law appointing the Committee and its Terms of Reference.

Terms of reference


Committee members are appointed for the same four year term as Council.

Minimum of five members, maximum of 12, including: Council representative; Newcastle Village and District Historical Society representative; Museum representative; architectural historian; building/design specialist; and up to a maximum of seven area residents from each ward.

Frequency of meetings

Monthly, the third Tuesday of the month (unless there is a Special Meeting), except July, August or December


These are volunteer positions.

Committee contact

Sarah Allin, Planner II
905-623-3379 ext. 2419

Clarington Heritage website




In 1977, the Council of the former Town of Newcastle appointed its first Local Architectural Conservation Advisory Committee (LACAC) passing By-law 77-6 which established the LACAC "to advise and assist Council on all matters relating to Parts IV and V of The Ontario Heritage Act." Part IV of the Act refers to the designation of individual heritage buildings of historic or architectural value and Part V refers to the designation of heritage districts.

In 1998, the LACAC determined that its mandate should be specifically detailed in a by-law approved by Council. Arising out of Report PD-4-99, By-law 99-1 was passed to detail the governance of LACAC. In 2006, By-law 2006-079 repealed By-law 99-1.

Between 2002 and 2006, the Ontario Heritage Act underwent several changes. As a result, the Heritage Committee's role was expanded to advise Council on cultural heritage matters beyond the designation of buildings and districts as determined by Council, and the Province provided greater criteria and guidelines. Details of these changes can be found in Report PSD-063-05 and Report PSD-039-06.


Website Feedback Customer Service