Browser Compatibility Notification
It appears you are trying to access this site using an outdated browser. As a result, parts of the site may not function properly for you. We recommend updating your browser to its most recent version at your earliest convenience.

Mayor and Council

Clarington Municipal Council is made up of the Mayor, the head of Council, and six Councillors. We have four local Councillors representing four wards and two regional Councillors. Our Mayor and both regional Councillors represent Clarington on Regional Council.

Clarington Council

Council considers reports from the General Government and Planning & Development Committees. The General Government Committee sits Monday during the day, at 9:30 a.m. unless it's a holiday and then it moves to the Tuesday. The Planning & Development Committee sits the following Monday night, at 7 p.m. Council usually follows on the third Monday night at 7 p.m., in Council Chambers.

All Council and Committee meetings are open to the public with some exemptions. If you wish to address Council, please visit our Delegations page.


See our meetings calendar for future Council and Committee meetings.

Council Highlights

Read highlights from the latest Council meetings.

Agendas, Minutes and Reports

Agendas, minutes and reports are available online, or you can get a copy of the agenda from Municipal Clerk's Office. We will post agendas on the meetings calendar by noon on the Friday before a regular meeting. In the case of a special meeting, we will post the agenda at least 24 hours before the meeting.

How is the Mayor elected?

The Mayor is the Head of Council and is elected at large by all eligible electors in the municipality.

How are Municipal Councillors elected?

Clarington is divided into four wards. Each ward has two representatives, a local Councillor and a regional Councillor. Electors in each ward can choose only among the candidates who are running for election in their specific ward. View Clarington's Ward Map to find out who your Councillor is.

What about Regional Council?

The Mayor is a member of the Regional Council. In Clarington, two regional Councillors (one representing Wards 1 and 2; one representing Wards 3 and 4) are elected by the voters to sit on both the regional and local Councils.


Mayor's Office
40 Temperance Street
Bowmanville, ON L1C 3A6
Map this Location
T. 905-623-3379 ext. 2005
Email the Mayor

Website Feedback Customer Service